SC Annual User Meeting 2009:		20 th Anniversary Celebration
10:10 -10:35	Jennifer Irish	"Hurricane Surge Response Functions"
10:35 – 11:00	Raffaele Montuoro	"Boosting Productivity with Advanced User Services"
11:10 – 11:35	Perla Balbuena	"Computational Catalysis and Electrocatalysis"
11:35 -12:00	Roland Allen	"Supercomputing Studies of Light-Matter Interactions in Materials and Molecules"
1:00-2:00	Lennart Johnsson	"HPC: Challenges, Opportunities and the Pain Ahead"
2:00-2:25	J.N. Reddy	"Computational Mechanics: A Powerful Scientific Methodology"
2:25-2:50	Renyi Zhang	"Numerical Simulations of Atmospheric Chemistry and its Impacts on Weather and Climate"
2:50-3:15	Tahir Cagin	"Characterization and Design of Materials for Engineering Applications"

3:15- 4:30 USER FORUM

Faculty Steering Committee (reports to Provost)

Voting:

Lee Panetta, Chair, Atmospheric Sciences Guy Almes, Telecommunications Academy Wolfgang Bangerth, Mathematics Tahir Cagin, Chemical Engineering Pierce Cantrell, VP & Associate Provost for IT Mike Hall, Chemistry Lawrence Rauchwerger, Computer Science

Non-voting:

Spiros Vellas, Associate Director CIS (for Supercomputing) Pete Marchbanks Jr., Interim Executive Director for CIS Steve Johnson, Institute for Scientific Computing

Founder & Key Supporter

- 1986 Bahram Nassersharif (BN) becomes Assistant Professor of Nuclear Engineering
- 1987 Nassersharif wins NSF's Presidential Young Investigator (PYI) award
- 1988 Herb Richardson, Dean & Vice
 Chancellor of Engineering, supports BN's idea to set up the Supercomputing Facility and A&M to buy a Cray supercomputer
- 1988 BN becomes the facility's first director



Herb Richardson, Dean & Vice Chancellor of Engineering

Cray Y-MP2/116 Delivery

- 1st Texas University to install a Cray Y-MP
- July 31, 1989



The Cray Y-MP arrives at Zachry Engineering Center.

The Cray Y-MP2/116



- 1 (out of 2) vector processor active only
- 16 MB of vector memory
- 8 64-word (64-bit)vector registers
- 6 nanosec clock
- Peak MFLOP/s 333



The original recipients of Cray Research Grants were (first row, left to right) R. Lee Panetta (Meteorology), Ralph White (Chemical Engineering), Gerald North (Meteorology), (second row, left to right) John C. Slattery (Chemical Engineering), Edward Mascorro (Civil Engineering), Photios Papados (Civil Engineering), Roland Allen (Physics), Jan Gryko (Physics), Gamal Akabani for John W. Poston (Nuclear Engineering), Bahram Nassersharif (Nuclear Engineering), Darrell Fannin (Rural Sociology), and Michael Hall (Chemistry).

Early Uses

<u>Name</u>	Department	Project Title
Roland Allen	Physics	Theoretical Studies of Real Materials
Ping Chang	Oceanography	Ageostrophic Wave-mean Flow Interaction: Equatroial Layer Dynamics
Siu Chin	Physics	Hamiltonian Lattice Calculations & Microscopic Nuclear Many-Body Problems
Michael Hall	Chemistry	Theoretical Inorganic & Organometallic Chemistry
Yassin Hassan	Nuclear Engineering	Turbulence Modeling using the Finite Element Method
George Kattawar	Physics	A Theoretical Study for Obtaining the Speed of Sound, Temperature & Salinity Remotely in the Open Ocean by Brillouin & Raman Scattering
Robert Lucchese	Chemistry	Studies of Electron-Molecule Collisions
Bahbram Nassersharif	Nuclear Engineering	Visual Neutron Particle Transport Using Cellular Automata
Gerald North	Meteorology & Oceanography	Application of Information Theory in Climate Predictability Using a General Circulation Model
Lee Panetta	Meteorology	Numerical Investigation of Jets in Quasi-Geostrophic Turbulence
Theodore Parish	Nuclear Engineering	A Fuel Scoping Program for Boiling Water Reactors
Paul Roschke	Civil Engineering	Failure Prediction of Thin Beryllium Sheets Used in Spacecraft Structures
John Slattery	Chemical Engineering	The Physics of Spreading Films
Ralf White	Chemical Engineering	Mathematical Modeling of Electrochemical Systems & Simulation of Batteries

Original Staff



Michael Bolton Manager



Victor Hazlewood UNICOS Systems Programmer



Spiros Vellas Sr. Systems Analyst



Don Curtis UNICOS Systems Administrator **Current Supercomputer Facility Staff Spiros Vellas** Director: Admin Asst: Greta Thomas Analysts: Francis Dang Keith Jackson Tae Sung Kim **Ping Luo** Xiangong Meng **Raffaele Montuoro** Michael Thomadakis Gants (Help Desk): Videsh Sadafal

Jie Meng

Cray Y-MP2/116 (1989)

Apple Macbook Pro (2008)



QuickTime[™] and a TIFF (Uncompressed) decompressor are needed to see this picture.

1 cpu 16 MB memory 0.333 Gflops → X 60 → \$5 M \$400k/yr maint 2 cpus 4 GB memory 20 Gflops \$2 K (+ 3 yr maint)

Supercomputer Facility hardware over the years

Cray Y-MP(1)	Vector	1 cpu	333 Mflops	\$5 M (1989)	
SGI Power Challenge	SMP	24 cpu			
Cray J90	Vector	16 cpu			
SGI Origin 2000	SMP	32 cpu			X
SGI Origin 3200	SMP	64 cpu			
IBM p690 Regatta	SMP	32 cpu		(2002)	
SGI Altix 3700	SMP	128 cpu	0.665	\$1.3 M	
			Tflops	(2004)	Х
IBM p575+	Cluster	832 cpu	6.3 Tflops	\$ 2.5 M	
				(2007)	Х
????????	Cluster	> 3000 ??	> 336 ?? Tflops	< \$ 2 M	

X 2000

X 10

50

Cosmos Usage





Hydra Usage





Monthly Batch Statistics for Hydra

